University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Unit's home page.

Academic Civility

Academic incivility has emerged as a serious concern on campuses across the country. Although generally a taboo topic for discussion within academe, evidence of academic incivility's negative effects on students, faculty, and staff is increasing. It is essential, therefore, that universities address this serious issue and work to ensure campus climates that are conducive to well-being, learning, and productivity.

The University of Minnesota is committed to taking a national leadership role in addressing academic incivility by acknowledging its existence; collaborating with students, faculty, and staff to understand how it affects campus climate - focusing on graduate students' academic experience and well-being; offering avenues for reporting incidents; and providing assistance when work or learning are disrupted by offensive, intimidating or hostile behavior. The University's Academic Civility Initiative was established to guide these efforts. We invite your participation as we work towards a university environment that is a civil and respectful place to learn and work.

In Fall 2007, the Student Conflict Resolution Center conducted a survey of all UMN-TC graduate students regarding the prevalence, manifestations, and effects of academic incivility. The survey also explored barriers to seeking assistance and satisfaction with interventions when the behavior was reported.

In an effort to garner diverse University perspectives and share both the responsibility and opportunity for responding to the problem, the Work Group Promoting Academic Civility was formed. The Work Group envisions a University culture that fosters academic excellence by promoting civil and respectful relationships through effective prevention of and response to hostile, offensive or intimidating behavior. Members include:

  • Kristin Anderson, Associate Dean, School of Public Health
  • John Andrews, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Medical School
  • Dick Brundage, Professor, Experimental/Clinical Pharmacology
  • Carolyn Chalmers, Emeritus
  • Caitlin Cohn PhD student, Design, Housing, and Apparel
  • Chris Conklin, PhD student, Physics
  • Alisa Eland, Associate Director for Counseling & Advising, International Student and Scholar Services
  • Douglas Ernie, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Cynthia Fuller, Associate Director, Student Access, Disability Resource Center
  • Dave Golden, Director of Public Health and Communications, Boynton Health Service
  • Matthew Hanson, Director, Student Academic Success Services, University Counseling and Consulting Service
  • Michael Huyen, Assistant Director, Student Conflict Resolution Center
  • Gabrielle Mead, Equal Opportunity Consultant (Associate to the Director), Office of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action
  • Jan Morse, Director, Student Conflict Resolution Center
  • Jane O'Brien, Associate Director, Center for Innovation in Education
  • Emily Ronning, Assistant to the Sr. VP and Provost, Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
  • Julie Showers, Director, Office for Conflict Resolution
  • Karen Starry, Assistant to the Dean, Graduate School
  • Mary Tate, Director of Minority Affairs and Diversity, Medical School
  • Julia Vievering PhD student, Physics

Address: 254 Appleby Hall, 128 Pleasant St. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455 | Phone: 612-624-7272

Contact SCRC  | Map